Make your own free website on

Ron's World12

"Dale Earnhardt"...He Truly Left His Mark.

~Dale's Career~

76...Career victories, which were first among active Winston Cup drivers, and the sixth most in history.

648...Consecutive starts, including Sunday February 18, 2001. He was in position to break Terry Labonte's record of 655 consecutive starts later this year.

Career Pole Positions...22

Career top 5 finishes...268

Career top 10 finishes...404

Winston Cup Championships...7 (1980, 1986, 1987, 1990, 1991, 1993, 1994)

IROC Championships...4 (1990, 1995, 1999, 2000)

American Driver of the Year...2 (1987, 1994)

Won record nine races at Talladega Superspeedway

Owns record 34 victories in all forms of racing at Daytona Speedway

1...Daytona 500 victory (1998)

His last win came in the 200 IROC race last February.

$41 million...Earnhardt's career earnings in 27 seasons.

NASCAR Winston Cup Firsts:

Start...May 25, 1975 Charlotte Motor Speedway

Pole...June 8, 1979 Riverside Speedway

Win...April 1, 1979 Bristol International Raceway

Dale Earnhardt At the beginning of the Sam's Town 300 and he went on to win the (NASCAR) Buch series race.

Titles and Awards: NASCAR Winston Cup Champion - 1980, 1986, 1987, 1990, 1991, 1993, 1994

NASCAR Winston Cup Rookie of the Year - 1979

National Motorsports Press Association Driver of the Year - 1980, 1987, 1990, 1994; with Tim Richmond in 1986

IROC Champion - 1990, 1995

National Driver of the Year - 1987, 1994

Career Highlights & Timeline

1975...First NASCAR Winston Cup Series start at Charlotte Motor Speedway on May 25th

1978...Joined Rod Osturland's team

1979...Winston Cup Series Rookie of the Year

First Winston Cup victory at Bristol International Raceway on April 1st

First Winston Cup pole at Riverside Raceway on June 8th

1980...Won first Winston Cup Series Championship, becoming only driver to win rookie title and championship back-to-back

1982...Joined Bud Moore Engineering team

1984...Joined Richard Childress Racing team

1986...Won five races to take second Winston Cup Series Championship, Shared NMPA Driver of the Year award with Tim Richmond

1987...Won 11 races for third Winston Cup Series Championship, finishing in top five 21 times in 29 races. American Motorsports Driver of the Year, NMPA Driver of the Year

1990...Won 9 times to take fourth Winston Cup Series Championship, earning a then-record $3,083,056.00. IROC Champion, NMPA Driver of the Year

1991...Won four races for fifth Winston Cup Series Championship

1993...Won six races to earn sixth Winston Cup Series Championship.

1994...Won seventh Winston Cup Series Championship, tying Richard Petty for most career titles. Topped $3-million mark in earnings for third time in five years. American Motorsports Driver of the Year, NMPA Driver of the Year

1995...Finished second in Winston Cup point standings, IROC Champion

1996...Became third driver to start 500 consecutive Winston Cup races. Finished fourth in Winston Cup point standings

1997...Became first driver to reach $30 million in American Motor Sports winnings and first driver to appear on box of Wheaties Ceral. Finished fifth in Winston Cup point standings

1998...Won first Daytona 500 in 20th career start, breaking a 59 race winless streak overall. Finished eight in Winston Cup points, his 18th top 10 finish in 20 years.

1999...Won 10th consecutive Twin 125 qualifying race at Daytona.

2000...Won Winston 500 on Oct. 15th at Talladega Superspeedway for final career victory.

~Thanks Again~

The Man